JCTC honors African American students for academic achievement

Twenty-one Jefferson Community and Technical College students were honored March 27 during the annual African American Students of Excellence Awards program on the college’s Downtown Campus.

The ceremony recognizes African American students who have 30 credit hours at Jefferson and a minimum 3.5 GPA.

“This ceremony is among the most special for the college,” said Dr. Tony Newberry, JCTC president. “It is rewarding to set aside time to recognize those students who have made a commitment to their education and who have achieved such success. It is a hard-earned, well-deserved honor.”

The program, sponsored by the college’s Black Affairs Advisory Committee, also honored Larry McDonald, executive director of the Lincoln Foundation, with a Community Service Award. The Lincoln Foundation provides educational enrichment services throughout the community that are designed to support youth in overcoming barriers to achievement.  Among the Foundation’s most recognized programs is the Whitney M. Young Scholars program, which supports academically talented, economically disadvantaged students in grades 7-12 with a goal to move students through high school and into college.

Noel Avery, Human Resources Specialist at JCTC, was presented with the Institutional Service Award for her commitment to excellence in service.

The honored students were: 

Kevin Amos
Steven Askew
Cary Lee Baker
Kenneth R. Bell
Latrece Brown
Shakita Chestnut
Cheneth M. Casey
Lynnea P. Davis
Lisa Felton
Deserae Fugett
Helen Haile
Linda M. Holt
Francine B. Ison
Chiquita Lacy
Patrice Middlebrooks
Joseph P. McNealy
Sait Sarr
Deltricia Smith
Idella Tarver
Marilyn Townsend
Latonya Marie Williams