College closed 12/16/17 thru 1/1/18

alert icon Jefferson will be closed for the winter break from December 16, 2017 thru January 1, 2018.  The college will resume normal operating hours on January 2, 2018.


The Southwest Campus began in 1972 as Jefferson Community College Southwest with 600 students in six classrooms, rented from Stuart High School on Valley Station Road. Part of the University of Kentucky Community College System, the campus would be the second community college campus in Jefferson County.

Amid considerable community, support, ground was broken on 65 acres in October, 1977, for the $8 million campus, it opened in Fall 1980 to 1,200 students. The campus was planned to accommodate 2,500 students, but currently enrolls more than 3,000.

The Southwest Campus is home to the college's Technology and Related Sciences division, which includes Information Technology, Mechatronics and Engineering Technology.

Students also can earn the Associate in Arts and Associate in Science transfer degrees.