30th annual African American Students of Excellence Awards

Twenty-nine Jefferson Community amp; Technical College students will be honored for academic achievement during the 30th annual African American Students of Excellence Awards.The ceremony will be held at 7 p.m. Thursday, March 31, in the Health Sciences Building Auditorium on the Downtown Campus, 110 E. Chestnut Street.

Students must have a 3.5 GPA and 30 credit hours to qualify for the honor.

This year s guest speaker is Michelle Yeager, a local business owner, former teacher and fitness expert. Yeager is the daughter of the late T. Stephen Yeager, who worked for the college for 20 years, and late Dr. Lillian Yeager, former Dean of Nursing at Indiana University Southeast.

Yeager, who said her parents instilled in her the value of education and a desire to help others, graduated from the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, and taught at Hawthorne and Cochran elementary schools in Jefferson County. Recently Yeager, a fitness competitor, opened charizYa Fitness, a Zumba fitness studio, and is the new Fitness Director at St. Stephen Baptist Church. She also owns OnyxLouisville.com, a website geared toward the urban professionals in the area.

She has served on the boards of The Home of the Innocents, St. George s Community Center, Ovarian Awareness of KY and the Chestnut Street YMCA.

The African American Students of Excellence Awards are sponsored by the Black Affairs Committee, which also will present Institutional Service Award and Community Service Awards. Recipients are revealed during the program.

The following students will be honored:

  • Vyukusenge Angelique
  • Matthew Bruce Battle
  • Latonya Denise Blount
  • Tiffani Khyel Brandon-Brown
  • Tia Patrice Braxton
  • Sallie R.Coleman
  • Tiffany L. Downs
  • Paul Evans
  • Richard S Faulkner
  • Deana Deshawn Gray
  • Wanda Dolores Hall
  • Mikhail Heaven
  • Yolanda F. Hickman
  • Delali Kudjo Hosi
  • Dahlie Masumbuko
  • Quinton A. Moore
  • Joshua James Oliver
  • Shawn Warren Rutledge Sr.
  • Algernon Seace
  • Harold Keith Simpson
  • Kate Nalule Ssekandi
  • Annie Marie Taylor
  • Lakrisia D. Washington
  • Michelle N. Watts
  • Shermia Love Woodford
  • Reginald Woods
  • Stephanie K. Young
  • Terry R. Trowell