Higher ed community presents distinguished award to Jefferson professor at Governor’s Conference on Postsecondary Trusteeship

Published on Sep 13, 2017

(LOUISVILLE, Ky.) – The higher education community honored two faculty members and three alumni Tuesday at the 2017 Governor’s Conference on Postsecondary Education Trusteeship conference. The awards ceremony followed remarks by Gov. Matt Bevin.

Council President Bob King said, “This year’s honorees are truly exceptional, and we are delighted to honor them for their many contributions to enrich the lives of our students and campus communities.”

The Acorn award recognizes exceptional teaching and professional achievement. Honorees include:

  • Matthew Winslow, Lexington, professor of psychology, Eastern Kentucky University
  • Stacy Taylor, Louisville, professor of English and humanities, Jefferson Community and Technical College.

The OAK award honors outstanding graduates for achieving statewide or national recognition in their careers and for exhibiting a lifelong affection for their alma mater and to Kentucky. Recipients include:

  • David Beck, Louisville, executive vice president and chief executive officer of Kentucky Farm Bureau Federation
  • Michael Mountjoy, Louisville, partner at Mountjoy, Chilton and Medley, LLP, CPAs and Advisors
  • Richard Boehne, Newport, president and chief executive officer of E.W. Scripps Co.

Stacy Taylor holds a Bachelor of Arts in English, Master of Arts in Literature in English, and has completed all coursework for a doctorate in rhetoric and composition from the University of Louisville. She teaches English composition, as well as introduction to humanities and literature courses. She serves as the General and Transfer Education Chair of the Faculty Council, on several Achieve the Dream committees, and has served on the Kentucky Association for Developmental Education Executive Board as well as the chair of the system-wide curriculum committee for English.

Jefferson Community and Technical College President Ty Handy nominated Taylor.