African-American students to be honored for academic achievement | JCTC

African-American students to be honored for academic achievement

LOUISVILLE, KY -- Forty-one Jefferson Community and Technical College students will be honored Thursday, March 31, during the annual African-American Students of Excellence Awards program on the college's Downtown Campus.

Each year African-American students who have at least 30 credit hours at JCTC and a cumulative 3.5 GPA are recognized at the event.

The ceremony will begin at 7:00pm in the Health Sciences Hall Auditorium, followed by a reception in the Republic Bank Foundation Atrium.

The ceremony also will feature remarks by Dr. Ty Handy, who joined the college as president in January, and Michelle Evon Patrick, an alumna of Jefferson, the University of Louisville and Western Kentucky University. Patrick has had a distinguished career as an educator and administrator at Spalding University and Midway College.

Students to be recognized Thursday are:

  • Yewa Ivone Adamenou
  • Augustin Dihondjo Ahamba
  • Herve Ayefounin Akakpo
  • Keleshia Romonda Alston
  • Beruke Asmerom
  • Jacqueline A. Barbour
  • Telecia Darshea Barfield
  • Teclu Asefaw Berhe
  • Anthony Zuri Bonner
  • Stephanie Ladonna Bosco
  • Sonya Marie Bowman
  • Kenneth Louis Brown Jr.
  • Jessica Lynn Bullard
  • Terri Antoya Cowherd
  • Jonda Denise Cross
  • Fadumo Yare Darur
  • Fikreyesus Garredew Desta
  • Angela Kirstin Devries
  • Ethel Lou Graham
  • Regina Diane Harper
  • Delisa Shantelle Hobbs
  • Marcus Christen Hudson
  • Georgi-Anne Paula Johnson
  • Stephanie Johnson
  • Lungu Drcongo Kapita
  • Habiba Ibironke Malik
  • Cameo McGuire
  • Sheila Y. Moorman
  • Leslie Delane Morrow
  • Jude Nkeng Njuafac
  • Shalarra Britiana Ordway
  • Katie Lavel Ramsey
  • Candice Nicole Richard
  • Kasheka T. Robinson
  • Tymisha Robinson
  • Mercedes L. Russell
  • Abrahale Mahari Solomon
  • Gloria Anne Lucette Tassy
  • Pascaline Uwizeyimana
  • Clarence Arthur Watson
  • Frandolyn Y. Youngblood